Memorial Day and One of My Peeves

Today is a day in which we honor those who have served this country and given the ultimate sacrifice so that we may continue enjoying the freedom we have. People associate Memorial Day with the beginning of the summer travel season, BBQs, Picnics, and overall good times with friends and family and booze–or maybe that last part is just my family. All day I’ve been seeing posts on Facebook that thank these heroes for their service but I must confess that there have been many posts today which have also peeved me. You’ve probably witnessed them too and either ignored them or just didn’t give them much thought which I’m guilty of both with the latter being especially true before I learned the major difference between the two days. Maybe we just don’t really teach about Memorial Day in school as we should or somehow something is getting lost in translation but nevertheless for some reason I found it annoying. Maybe its just semantics.

I’ve seen pictures that people post of their family members who are still alive today who they are thanking for their service along with people who are simply thanking their friends and relatives who are currently serving. Believe me, I am all about giving thanks to those brave men and women! However, it just seems people are confusing Memorial Day with Veteran’s Day which is when we thank those who have served, and those actively serving, who are still living. Memorial Day is about remembrance and remembering those who gave their lives while serving our country. I don’t know why but it does deeply bother me so maybe I need to take some time and reflect on why that is. Besides shouldn’t I be more peeved by those who simply view it as BBQ day or beach day?

Anyways, I do want to express my sincerest and deepest gratitude to all those brave men and women who gave their lives so that I may enjoy the freedom I do today. May their lives never have been given in vain and should they always be remembered. May the Goddess and God bless them.

 

Brightest of Blessings,

The Autumn Witch

Memorial Day

 

I know this isn’t my normal sort of blog post and I really hesitated in posting it as it sort of seemed petty, if that’s the right word. I just really needed to get it off my chest. I also kept politics and rants off this post because that isn’t the intention behind it.

The featured image, which may or may not be noticeable unless this post is shared is from Memorialdayfacts.com. I do not own it and no copyright infringement was intended.

Leave a Reply

