My 5 Favorite Crystals

Good Afternoon, everyone! I feel like it’s been ages since I last posted anything and honestly this week has been so busy that I don’t know if I’m coming or going which isn’t necessarily bad. I just don’t like not having time for things which I feel I need to do for myself, you know? I haven’t been able to go to the gym, meditate, or really do much to relax. Needless to say, I’ve felt rather frazzled! Then my week ended with me getting food poisoning! Oh goodness! Anyways, today I’ve finally had time to recollect myself and really just chill which drew my attention to my lack of posting on here. I have so many ideas swarming around in my head that I couldn’t possibly decide which topic I wanted to talk about but I did know I only wanted to choose one so I don’t overwhelmingly begin to post tons of stuff. 🙂

Hence I decided that since I’ve been using crystals a lot lately I would post about my top five favorite ones to use. Most pagans and witches who work with crystals always seem to have one or two favorites that overlap which is why I always find it very interesting to see what others prefer and like. Without further ado, let’s take a quick look at the crystals I typically tend to reach for….

My first favorite crystal is Black Tourmaline. I absolutely LOVE this stone and have several rough stones along with a bottle of crystal chips that I use in appropriate spellwork. This is one of the stones I prefer to always have on my altar as well. Black Tourmaline is a strong protective stone against negative energy and can transmute it into something more positive. Some say it is a purifying stone. It is related to the root chakra and is also known as Schorl. It is found worldwide. It has a very calming, protective, and calming energy which is one of the reasons I love it. I carried this crystal for a week and it was an amazing experience that I’ll talk about in a later post. When I worked at Walmart I always carried this stone in my vest pocket and I really could feel the difference whenever I left it at home.

Now is when it gets difficult because I love all the next crystals equally so their order is of no importance. They all are my second favorite! 🙂 The next crystal is Rose Quartz. Rose Quartz is a stone of love, all types of love, that has a very beautiful and soft calming energy that just envelops you in its warmth. From that description, its very easy to tell why I adore it so much! (Yes, those were my words and not a quote :p) It raises your self-confidence and self-esteem which makes it fantastic for positive affirmations. Compassion, harmony, and peace are some other correspondences for this stone. The main source of this stone would be Brazil but it’s also found in several other countries, including the U.S.. I love pairing this stone with Black Tourmaline, especially when I was working. I like to keep a crystal in the bathroom near my facial wash and make-up as I naturally correlate it to the Goddesses of Love and Beauty. Just my own little thing I like to do. This would obviously correspond to the heart chakra.

The next crystal would be Amethyst. I have always loved and been drawn to amethyst which might also be due to my love of the color of purple. This crystal is good for spiritual growth, psychic awareness, protection (to some people), and ridding the house of negative energy. It is known as a stone of change and enlightenment. Traditionally it was believed to prevent drunkiness which is interesting. I keep a piece of amethyst in the bag with my tarot cards due to its correspondence with psychic awareness. I have a cluster that I also keep on my altar at all times. It’s a good overall healer stone and I’ve found it particularly great for headache relief. Most amethyst comes from Zambia but it is also found and mined in several other countries. It is related to the brow chakra (3rd eye).

Next on my list is Citrine. I am positively in love with this stone! Nothing makes me happier or more giddy than having citrine with me. To me it is like a little piece of sunshine 🙂 Citrine is known as the merchant stone as its great for money and prosperity. It’s a stone of happiness, joy, positivity, and abundance. Some people claim that citrine is one of the few stones that never need to be cleansed but personally I prefer to cleanse all my stones, especially when I first get them. It is a very energizing and good for personal will which is why it relates to the solar plexus chakra.This is the only stone I ever use for that chakra! It is said to be good for psychic awareness when placed upon the brow which I can only think of its close relation to amethyst (which both are types of quartz). Also deep orange citrine is typically heat treated amethyst but it works just as well as regular citrine. In fact my favorite piece of citrine is heat treated and I still love it. It can also be used for mental clarity. Most citrine comes from Brazil but it’s also found in a couple other countries.

Last but certainly not least is Carnelian. I used to not feel so connected to this stone but it’s definitely one of my favorites now! Carnelian is a stone of courage, vitality, sexuality, confidence, and action. It is thought to banish emotional negativity and I definitely concur with that. I always feel much better emotionally with this stone. It is supposed to calm anger and increase not only personal power but also creativity. It’s related to the sacral chakra and as citrine, I only use this stone for my chakra! It’s a stone of grounding and can be used to clear energy to bring about peace. It’s a good motivator so when feeling lethargic or just not really wanting to do anything, I always turn to this stone. Its good for manifestation as well and is said to help aid citrine in manifesting quickly along with Tiger’s Eye. It is commonly found in Brazil, India, Siberia, and Germany.

 

If you haven’t worked with these stones, I implore you to give them a try and I’m sure you’ll find them becoming part of your routine crystals. 🙂  If you have had any experiences with these stones, I’d love to hear about them!

Brightest of Blessings!

 

**Disclaimer: The information contained in this post is not meant to treat any sort of diagnosis and therefore should not be used in place of proper medical attention.** (Just to cover my ass!)

Leave a Reply

